Counting is underway at the Lewis Sports Centre. 

An army of staff are sifting through the votes, and it’s reckoned announcements will be made around 1pm. 

Sixty island residents have thrown their hat into the ring – aiming to secure one of 31 councillor positions. 

We’ll have a new Comhairle Leader, as Angus Campbell did not stand. 

And not standing for re-election were two of the Comhairle's three female councillors – Zena Stewart (Point), and current Chair of the authority's Education and Children's Service committee Catriona Stewart (Broadbay) – although there are seven female candidates.

Also not standing this year are Iain MacKenzie (Stornoway North), Philip R Mclean (Harris and South Lochs), and Norman M Macleod (Point).

Here’s a recap of the candidates:

In Ward 1 – Barra, Vatersay, Eriskay and South Uist – current councillors David Blaney (Independent), Ronald Mackinnon (Independent), Donnie Steele (Independent) and Donald Manford (SNP) are all standing for election and are joined by hopefuls Gerry Macleod (Independent), Calum Macmillan (SNP), Iain Archie Macneil (Independent), and Paul Francis Steele.

Benbecula and North Uist, Ward 2, sees its three current councillors re-standing – Neil Beaton (Independent), Uisdean Robertson (Independent), and Andrew Walker (Independent) – alongside Ken Macbrayne (Scottish Conservative and Unionist), Roddy Mackay (Independent), Iain Murdoch Macleod (Independent), John Macleod (Independent), and Roslyn Macpherson (SNP).

Ward 3 – Harris and South Lochs – has only two of its three current councillors re-standing, Catherine Macdonald (Independent) and DJ Macrae (Independent), who are joined by hopefuls Finlay Cunningham (Independent), Paul Anthony Finnegan (Independent), Fiona Macleod (SNP), Sheena Macleod (Independent), John Graham Mitchell (SNP), Alex Dan Smith (Independent), and Denise Wilson (Independent).

Moving to Uig and North Lochs, Ward 4, and all three current councillors will re-stand, including Comhairle Convener Norman A Macdonald (Independent), as well as Angus Morrison (Independent) and Donald 'Cudig' Macleod (Independent). And hoping to take a seat from one is candidate Ranald Fraser (Scottish Conservative and Unionist).

Ward 5 – Point – and only current councillor, Alasdair Macleod (Independent), is to re-stand for election, with Don Macdonald (Scottish Conservative and Unionist), Norrie Tomsh Macdonald (Independent), John Murdo Macmillan (Independent), Tony Robson (Independent), and Finlay Mackenzie Stewart (Independent) battling it out alongside for one of the three seats.

There are eight candidates all aiming for one of the four councillor positions in Stornoway South, Ward 6, with Charlie Nicolson (Independent), Angus McCormack (Independent), and Rae Mackenzie (SNP) all standing for re-election.

They are joined by Caroline Linda Brick (Independent), Keith Dodson (Independent), Shonnie Beag Macritchie (Independent), Campbell McKenzie (Independent), and Derek Mcpherson (Independent).

Stornoway North, Ward 7, see new candidate Lesley McKenzie (Independent) join current councillors seeking re-election Iain M Macaulay (Independent), Neil Mackay (Independent), Roddie Mackay (Independent), and Gordon Murray (SNP) on the list.

Ward 8 – Broadbay – current councillors Donald Crichton (Independent) and John A Maciver (SNP) are ready to stand again, along with Ruaraidh Ferguson (Independent), Iain C Maciver (Independent), Allan Cameron Maclachlan (Independent), and Calum Maclean (Independent).

And Ward 9 – West Side and Ness – all four current councillors are aiming for re-election: John Mackay (Independent), Alistair Maclennan (Independent), Kenneth Macleod (SNP), and John Norman Macleod (Independent).

Hoping to take a seat from one are Malcolm Ivor Mctaggart (Independent) and Kenny John Macleod (Independent).