The first presentation of the Donnie ‘Mata’ Graham memorial shield (pictured) was the highlight of this year’s awards ceremony at Point Football Club on Saturday night (December 28th).

The shield is awarded to the under-21 player of the year, and this year went to Angus Macdonald.

Club supporters applauded the gesture of naming the shield in memory of lifelong club supporter Donnia Mata.

One said: “An impressive gesture, PFC. Donnie Mata gave so much to the club, especially his time with the youngsters, over the years. I am sure he is missed by many at the club.”

Other award winners on Saturday night were Rob Jones, who was named as both players’ and managers’ player of the year, while Andrew Murray won the supporters’ player of the year award. Ally ‘Wally’ Maciver was the season’s top goalscorer, with 24 goals.

Among the under-18s, Cailean Macleod was managers’ player of the year and Josh Smith the players’ player of the year.

A club spokesman said: “It was also noted that Point had scored an incredible 121 goals in all competitions this season. A very encouraging stat and the players and supporters will be hoping for more of the same next season in the team’s charge to add more silverware to the trophy cabinet.”